Showing Collections: 1 - 16 of 16
Collection
Identifier: MS 00006
Scope and Contents
The collection contains correspondence, photographs and other material related to three Franklin, West Virginia brothers who served in the United States military during World War II. The bulk of the collection consists of nearly 200 letters of outgoing correspondence penned by three brothers, Arlie, Arthur, and W. Russell Blizzard to their mother and sisters in Franklin, West Virginia. Some of the topics discussed in the correspondence include army training, work, Arlie's visit to Japan and...
Dates:
1929-1949; Majority of material found in 1942-1945
Collection
Identifier: SC 01113
Scope and Contents
This collection contains a single letter, written immediately after the announcement of the surrender of Germany by a mother in Connecticut to her son, Private First Class Carl Holmberg, who had been wounded. The letter discusses the arrival of V-E Day, the continuing fighting in the Pacific, and advice to not continue serving.
Dates:
1945 May 7
Collection
Identifier: MS 00144
Scope and Contents
Letters, 1941-1945, written to Fern Cheesebrew of Middleport, Ohio. Letters are written from various people in the United States Armed Force and primary correspondents include her husband, Frank Cheesebrew, John Piatt, and Clifford Hayes. Both Cheesebrew and Piatt are eventually stationed in different locations in the Pacific Theater, including Hawaii and the Philippines, while Hayes seems to stay at a base in Tampa, Florida. Letters primarily include information about their daily lives in...
Dates:
1941-1945
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.487
Scope and Contents
Primarily this is a collection of love letters written between 1942-1944 to Gertha Barbara Jean Sykes residing in St. Louis, Missouri and James NMI Dansby, an African-American soldier in the United States Army. There are also letters from two other Army soldiers, Jack Smith, stationed in the Pacific and Benjamin D. Collins, an aircompany soldier, whom Sykes married in 1949. The letters begin when Dansby joined the Army and started basic training in Camp Shelby, Hattiesburg,...
Dates:
1942-1951
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.123
Scope and Contents
This collection contains letters to Obelia "Bee" Graves, from her family and friends, while she attended Winston-Salem Teachers College in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. The institution is presently known as Winston-Salem State University. Winston-Salem Teachers College was the first historically black college to grant bachelors degrees in elementary school education. The collection also includes college documents from her time at college such as report cards and her admission acceptance....
Dates:
1936-1945; Majority of material found in 1937-1939
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2015.076
Scope and Contents
The bulk of this collection consists of letters to and from Norman E. Lau, who served as an aviation metalsmith for the U.S. Navy during World War II, and his family. The correspondence was written before and after the war, and concern Lau's search for a job in Chicago during the Depression, his training, his time spent overseas during the war stationed in the Philippines, and his life after the war in California. Many of the letters were written to or by his wife, "Kitty." Correspondence...
Dates:
1929-1950
Collection
Identifier: MS 00340
Scope and Contents
The McLeod-Tyler Family papers contains materials from members of the McLeod-Tyler family. Included in the collection are diaries and scrapbooks of Lieutenant John G. Tyler II during World War II, a typed transcript of a Civil War Memoir of Edward Keville Glennan; a commemorative collection of 20 battle pictures, entitled "Advance in the Pacific, New Guinea to the Philipines"; and two high school poetry anthologies, 1969-1970 to which J. Goodenow Tyler III contributed. Also included in the...
Dates:
1930-2007 and undated
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M59
Scope and Contents
Papers including correspondence concerning Millington's experiences as directing engineer of the Anglo-Mexican Mining Association, as professor at College of William and Mary where he lived in the Wythe House, as professor at University of Mississippi, and at Memphis Medical College. Includes diaries covering 1832, 1835, and 1861-1867; letters of his family members; and Blankenship family land records and letters concerning the Spanish-American War.
Dates:
1801-1951
Collection
Identifier: SC 01195
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and memoir; 1862-1897, bulk 1862-1866, of Civil War soldier Sergeant Joseph Lawrence Pollard, Co. I, 26th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Gen. A. P. Hill's division). Letters were written by Pollard to his wife Martha Elizabeth 'Pat' Hutchinson Pollard at 'Rosewood' in the upper part of King and Queen County, Virginia. Letters describe camp life and respond to his wife's news of family and home. Letters were written from Gloucester Point, camp near Richmond, Chaffin's Bluff,...
Dates:
1862-1945
Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 82, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01198
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, photographs, and military papers concerning the World War II service of 2nd Lt. A.N.C. Lina Nancy Potter (1901-1975) of Narragansett, Rhode Island. Potter enlisted in the United States Armed Forces in 1942 and served as a nurse in a military hospital in India from 1943-1945. This collection consists of 23 letters of her outgoing wartime correspondence to family (her Aunt Harriet E. Weaver and Uncle Charles Weaver of Rhode Island) in the United States, her military papers, and...
Dates:
1942-1945
Collection
Identifier: SC 00675
Scope and Contents
Letters, 1944-1945, of Howard Ramey, a member of the United States Naval Construction Battalion, also known as the Seabees, and stationed upon the USS New Jersey during World War II. The letters are primarily written to his grandparents, whose names are unknown. Letters primarily concern Ramey's inquiries about life in the United States as well as his feelings about his service in the Navy. In one letter, Ramey mentions that there is much about which he is not allowed to write.
Dates:
1944-1945
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...
Dates:
1665-2001; Majority of material found in 1850-1950
Collection
Identifier: MS 00024
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of letters, ephemera, and original art work created by S. Cole Bradley while stationed in the Philippines as a staff sergeant in the United States Air Force during World War II. The bulk of the letters are addressed to Eudora Lampman, whom he would later marry. The sketches are done in pencil as well as pen and ink with watercolors. The drawings depict everyday military life in the Philippines including ships, landscapes, and servicemen at work and leisure.
Dates:
circa 1941-1945, 1991-1994
Collection
Identifier: SC 00962
Scope and Contents
Letters, 1944-1945, written to John Edward Siddall, Jr. Includes six letters sent by his parents, who lived in Horsham, Pennsylvania, and also includes six letters sent by his sister and brother-in-law, Emma and Albert Steever. For more detailed description provided by the seller, click on the Finding Aid link below.
Dates:
1944-1945
Collection
Identifier: MS 00109
Scope and Contents
This artificial collection of World War II era correspondence spans 1935 and 1939-1945. The letters are primarily from soldiers serving in the US Armed Forces, but there are also a few letters written by American civilians living in the USA during this period. One folder contains 33 letters from various German soldiers, written to Marie Luise Matsko of Wiesbaden, Hesse, Germany (written in German). Collected by Tom Sunkiskis, this two-box collection contains correspondence from a variety of...
Dates:
1935-1945
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.36
Scope and Contents
Letters from Valentino Vozza to his girlfriend, then wife, Lee Perley, while he served in the Navy during World War II. He was part of the Ninth fleet while in California, and the Third fleet, on the ship U.S.S. Mundo, and stationed in San Diego, California, San Francisco, California, Bremerton, Washington and the Pacific Front in and near Guam, Pearl Harbor and Japan. His wife was in or near Los Angeles, California and Ocean Park, California. Valentino Vozza moved up...
Dates:
1942-1945
